Anambra Times | News at your doorstep..

A fourteen man security and peace committee has been set up by Anambra and Enugu States to among other things,

supervise farming and harvesting of produce in the disputed Inter-State bundaries of Awba-Ofemmili and Ibito-Olo.
The ceremony was performed by the Anambra State Deputy Governor, Dr Nkem Okeke and his Enugu State Counterpart, Barrister Cecilia Ezeilo at the Government House, Awka.
The establishment of the Committee as contained in a ten point communique, followed the conclusion of the recent interstate boundary meeting held in Enugu.
Members of the Committee from Anambra State include, Mr Reuben Agummadu, Chairman, Mr. Mofunanya Alfred, Secretary, Messrs Iloegbunam Alexander and Ifeanyi AnuOthers are Messrs Ikechukwu Okoye, Nwabufo Fred, and Mgbemfulu Joachim.
Members of the Committee from Enugu include, Messers Onuorah Amobi, Joseph Okonkwo, Humphrey Udegbunam and Isaac Ozorilo.
Others are Messrs Anthony Ekwueme, Hygenius Nweke, Tobias Onwugbolu.
Inaugurating the Committee, Deputy Governor Okeke who also spoke on behalf of the Enugu State Deputy Governor, Barrister Ezeilo, expressed confidence in the committee members, pointing out that the summary of their assignment is to maintain peace in the area, pending the determination of the boundary by the National Boundary Commission.
Deputy Governor Okeke who is the Chairman of the Anambra State Boundary Committee, charged the committee members to uphold truth in the discharge of their duties, expressing optimism that the National Boundary Commission would establish the boundary before the expiration of the one year life span of the Committee.
Also speaking, the Executive Secretary of the Anambra State Boundary Committee, Mr. Emma Nwokoye, stressed that the committee members are under the two Deputy Governors, and disclosed that information reaching them has it that against resolution of the last meeting, some people moved into the disputed area with bulldozers, calling on the committee members to look into it and straighten up the records.
The Executive Secretary of Enugu state Boundary Committee, Elder SU. Ugwu charged the committee members to function within the ambit of the law and the ten point communiqué.
Present at the meeting were the Chairman of Awka North Council Area, Mr. Lawrence Onwuzuka, and the Chairman of Ezeagu Council Area, Mr. Chukwudi Ezinwa, among others.

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.